Instabilities of Flows in Porous Media

David Wood

  •  3 Apr 2024 - 21 Apr 2024
     8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Anja Slim (Monash University)
Scott McCue (Queensland University of Technology)
Edward Hinton (University of Melbourne)
Anne De Wit (Universite libre de Bruxelles)

Program Description:
Instabilities in porous media are key to many environmental and engineering challenges. This research program will bring together Australian and international experts from a broad range of backgrounds to tackle these applied mathematical problems. The first week will consist of a lecture series by the five invited experts. A prominent feature of the program will be the participating graduate researchers. They will be encouraged to interact closely with the speakers during the first week, which will highlight and expound some of the major open questions in the mathematical modelling of instabilities in porous media. The remaining two weeks of the program will focus on short research projects carried out by graduate researchers with intensive supervision by the academics. The aims are to make significant research progress, launch fruitful collaborations and potentially set up future international postdoctoral positions for the graduate researchers.

Program Structure: TBD


  • Deadline: 22 October 2023
  • Registration is by invitation only. If you are interested to participate in this program, please contact one of the organisers with your CV and research background.
  • Arrival date: 2 April 2024

MATRIX Wine and Cheese Afternoon 9 April 2024
On the first Tuesday of each program, MATRIX provides a pre-dinner wine and cheese afternoon. Produce is locally-sourced to showcase delicacies from the region.