PhD Student Symposium in Combinatorics

Jan de Gier

  • 30 May 2022 - 3 Jun 2022
    8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Organisers:

Afsane Ghafari Baghestani
(Monash University)
Yudhistira Bunjamin
(The University of New South Wales)
Jodie Lee
(The University of New South Wales)
Thomas Lesgourgues
(The University of New South Wales)
Jack Neubecker
(The University of Queensland)
Angus Southwell
(Monash University)

Description:
The Student Symposium in Combinatorics is an online symposium organized by combinatorics research students for like-minded research students and others to participate. We invite students at all stages of their studies to attend this online symposium. This is a friendly environment for students to discuss problems and present their research to other students around the world. Students in any area of combinatorics, as well as anyone who uses combinatorics in their research, are invited and encouraged to attend and to give a talk on their research. For those who are earlier in their studies, we also welcome you to talk about your field and the research you plan to do.

The symposium will include plenary talks given by invited speaker, contributed talks, panel discussions and social gatherings. It will be run with two main sessions per day, to allow students from different time zone to attend. The ‘morning session’ will run approximatively from 8am to 11am AEST (6pm to 9pm Eastern Time, 11pm to 2am Central European Time). The ‘afternoon session’ will run approximatively from 7pm to 10pm AEST (5am to 8am Eastern Time, 10am to 1pm Central European Time). Invited and contributed talks will be included in both sessions depending on registrations and speakers preferences.

Invited speakers:
Peter Bradshaw (Simon Fraser University)
Colin Defant (Princeton University)
Eva-Maria Hainzl (TU Wien)
Sam Mattheus (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
Tobin South (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Joshua Stevenson (University of Tasmania)
Fransisca Susan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Jane Tan (University of Oxford)
Corrine Yap (Rutgers University)

Special invited speakers for the winners of the 2021 CMSA Anne Penfold Street Student Prize:
Jack Allsop (Monash University)
Aditya Ganguly (UNSW Sydney)

Symposium webpage: https://sites.google.com/view/2022-student-symposium-comb/home

Registration: Registration is now open.

Contact: If you have any questions, please contact the organisers at sscombinatorics2022@gmail.com

Code of Conduct
We highly value professional behaviour, where everyone is treated with respect and courtesy. Further information is available from the University of New South Wales’ (UNSW Sydney) website: https://www.gs.unsw.edu.au/policy/documents/codeofconduct.pdf

Sponsors:
This symposium is supported by MATRIX and AMSI.
To support post-symposium research collaboration between PhD student participants, MATRIX-AMSI are providing funding through the MATRIX-AMSI PhD Student Research Collaboration Schemehttps://www.matrix-inst.org.au/phd-student-research-collaboration-scheme-guidelines/