Australian-German Workshop on Differential Geometry in the Large

David Wood

We're sorry, but all tickets sales have ended because the event is expired.
  •  4 Feb 2019 - 15 Feb 2019
     8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Organisers: Owen Dearricott ( University of Melbourne), Diarmuid Crowley (University of Melbourne), Thomas Leistner (University of Adelaide), Yuri Nikolayevsky (LaTrobe University), Wilderich Tuschmann (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology).

Program Description:
Differential geometry is one of the most research-intensive areas of mathematics in recent decades. It has a long tradition that traces its development back well over a century. Its current prominence stems from its position at the crossroads of many active fields such as: topology, metric geometry, analysis, partial differential equations, Lie and other forms of group theory. Its influence spreads well beyond the confines of pure mathematics to interact with theoretical physics and extends to a multitude of practical applications as diverse as engineering, robotics and computer vision.

In the first week of the program, we plan an international conference to highlight recent advances in global Riemannian and metric geometry, topology, and geometric analysis to foster communication between experts and early career researchers from Australia and abroad and identify directions to set the stage for future advances. In particular, we plan to have a problem session towards the end of the conference that will emphasise known problems in the field, but will go beyond to zero in upon new problems emerging from our discussions during the workshop. This will be beneficial to young mathematicians wanting a comprehensive overview and keep abreast of up to the minute developments and open problems.

In the second week, we plan to hold the first Australian-German workshop on differential geometry with Australian and German geometers who participated in the conference, focussing on new problems and potential directions of future research that came up in the first week. Germany has a long and strong tradition in differential geometry and there are many mathematicians from both countries who presently enjoy scientific exchange and interaction with one another. The workshop is intended to strengthen and deepen these existing connections and inspire future research and educational exchange and collaboration between both countries.

Program Details and Materials: 
Below is the draft of Program Structure. Please click to enlarge.
Note: actual times may differ slightly and things may change as the workshop approaches

Participant List
Diarmuid Crowley (University of Melbourne)
Owen Dearricott (University of Melbourne)
Thomas Leistner (University of Adelaide)
Wilderich Tuschmann (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
Yuri Nikolayevsky (La Trobe University)
Ben Andrews (Australian National University)
Burkhard Wilking (University of Muenster)
Christoph Böhm (University of Muenster)
Claude LeBrun (Stony Brook University)
Thomas Farrell (YMSC and Deptartment of Mathematics, Tsinghua University)
Frances Kirwan (Oxford University)
Fuquan Fang (Capital Normal University)
Guofang Wei (University of California Santa Barbara)
Neil Trudinger (Australian National University)
Peter Petersen (University of California Los Angeles)
Robert Bryant (Duke University)
Rod Gover (University of Auckland)
Ramiro Lafuente (University of Queensland)
Karsten Grove (University of Notre Dame)
Sebastian Goette (Universität Freiburg)
Lashi Bandara (Universtity of Potsdam)
Katharina Neusser (Masaryk University)
Artem Pulemotov (University of Queensland)
Jesse Gell-Redman (University of Melbourne)
Lee Kennard (Syracuse University)
Haotian Wu (University of Sydney)
Paul Bryan (Macquarie University)
Julian Scheuer (University of Freiburg)
Krishnan Shankar (University of Oklahoma, National Science Foundation)
Xianzhe Dai (University of California Santa Barbara)
Fernando Galaz-Garcia (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
Valentina Wheeler (University of Wollongong)
Julie Clutterbuck (Monash University)
Martin Kerin (University of Muenster)
Fred Wilhelm (University of California Riverside)
Catherine Searle (Wichita State University)
Mathew Langford (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
Uwe Semmelmann (University of Stuttgart)
Joseph Wolf (University of California Berkeley)
Tracy Payne (Idaho State University)
Boris Vertman (University of Oldenburg)
Pedro Solarzano (UNAM-CONACYT Oaxaca)
Jim Davis (Indiana University)
Lorenz Schwachhoefer (TU Dortmund)
Stephan Klaus (MFO Oberwolfach/University of Mainz)
Klaus Kröncke (University of Hamburg)
Matthias Ludewig (University of Adelaide)
Vicente Cortes (University of Hamburg)
Vladimir Matveev (University of Jena)
Charles Boyer (University of New Mexico)
Vincent Pencastaing (University of Luxembourg)
Fernando Cortes Kuehnast (TU Berlin )
William Campbell Wylie (Syracuse University)
Franziska Beitz (WWU Münster)
James McCoy (University of Newcastle)
Megan Kerr (Wellesley College)
Adam Moreno (University of Notre Dame)
Anusha Krishnan (University of Pennsylvania)
Curtis Porter (North Carolina State University)
Romina Arroyo (University of Queensland)
Gerd Schmalz (University of New England)
Nan Li (City University New York)
Zheting Dong (Oregon State University)
Changwei Xiong (Australian National University)
Xianfeng Wang (Australian National University)
Yuhan Wu (University of Wollongong)
Brett Parker (Monash University)
Jian He (Monash University)



  • Deadline: 2 December 2018
  • Registration is by invitation only.



Australian-German Workshop on Differential Geometry in the Large – Conference Date 4-8 February 2019

MATRIX Wine and Cheese Afternoon 5 February 2019
On the first Tuesday of each program, MATRIX provides a pre-dinner wine and cheese afternoon. Produce is locally-sourced to showcase delicacies from the region.