Elliptic partial differential equations of second order: Celebrating 40 years of Gilbarg and Trudinger’s book

florica cirstea

Registration for this event has closed.
  • 16 October 2017 - 28 October 2017
    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Organisers: Lucio Boccardo (Sapienza Università di Roma), Florica-Corina Cîrstea (University of Sydney), Julie Clutterbuck (Monash University), L. Craig Evans (University of California, Berkeley), Enrico Valdinoci (University of Melbourne), Paul Bryan (University of Queensland)

Program Description: In 2017, it will be 40 years since the publication of Gilbarg and Trudinger’s Elliptic Partial Differential Equations of Second Order. We celebrate this with a program to link the past research with the future perspectives, by discussing what the important developments in the area during these forty years have been and what are the new trends of contemporary research. Particular attention will be given to some of the topics in which the book served as a great source of inspiration, such as fully nonlinear PDEs, viscosity solutions, Hessian equations, optimal transport, stochastic point of view, geometric flows, and so on.

Program Details and Materials:
Below is the Program Structure. Please click to enlarge.


  • Deadline: 1 April 2017 (talk title/abstract may be submitted at a later date)
  • Registration is by invitation only
  • You are invited to attend week two (research collaboration) of the Elliptic partial differential equations of second order: Celebrating 40 years of Gilbarg and Trudinger’s book MATRIX program. Note: if you wish to attend the introductory workshops in the first week, please contact the organisers at office@matrix-inst.org.au
  • To register for the Graduate Lecture Series (Week 1), please go to the Workshop page
  • Only one registration is required. Please indicate your dates of attendance and add all events to the Event Cart before checkout

Participant list: 

  1. Florica-Corina Cîrstea, University of Sydney.
  2. Julie Clutterbuck, Monash University.
  3. Enrico Valdinoci, University of Melbourne.
  4. Yann Bernard, Monash University.
  5. Norman Dancer, University of Sydney.
  6. Camillo De Lellis, ETH Zurich.
  7. Guido de Philippis, SISSA Trieste.
  8. Serena Dipierro, University of Melbourne.
  9. Yihong Du, University of New England.
  10. Nicola Fusco, Università di Napoli.
  11. Jesse Gell-Redman, University of Melbourne.
  12. Joseph Grotowski, University of Queensland.
  13. Feida Jiang, Tsinghua University.
  14. Gary Lieberman, Iowa State University.
  15. Jiakun Liu, University of Wollongong.
  16. Gregoire Loeper, Monash University.
  17. Connor Mooney, University of Texas at Austin.
  18. Aldo Pratelli, University of Erlangen–Nürnberg.
  19. Maria Michaela Porzio, Sapienza Università di Roma.
  20. Frédéric Robert, Université de Lorraine.
  21. Julie Rowlett, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden.
  22. Mariel Sáez, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.
  23. Neil Trudinger, Australian National University.
  24. John Urbas, Australian National University.
  25. Jerome Vetois, McGill University.
  26. Xu-Jia Wang, Australian National University.
  27. Valentina Wheeler, University of Wollongong.
  28. Bin Zhou, Australian National University.
  29. Graham Williams, University of Wollongong.
  30. Nassif Ghoussoub, University of British Columbia.
  31. James McCoy, University of Wollongong Australia.
  32. Paul Bryan, University of Queensland.
  33. Susanna Terracini, Università di Torino.

Workshop: Graduate Lecture Series – 16 October to 20 October 2017

MATRIX Wine and Cheese Afternoon Date 17 October 2017

Research Workshop – 23 October to 27 October 2017