Groups and Geometries

Jan de Gier

  • 29 Nov 2021 - 3 Dec 2021
    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Alice Devillers (University of Western Australia)
James Parkinson (University of Sydney)
Jeroen Schillewaert (University of Auckland)
Anne Thomas (University of Sydney)

Program Description: 
In the 1950’s Jacques Tits provided a converse to Klein’s Erlangen program showing that algebraic groups could be understood by the study of geometric objects (buildings) associated to them. In fact his theory is so all-encompassing it also allows us to study groups over local fields, which are of crucial importance in number theory and representation theory. Moreover, the geometry of buildings is very rich in itself and buildings are a key family of examples in geometric group theory, as they form spaces of non-positive curvature (CAT(0) spaces). Lastly the development of buildings played a crucial role in the classification of the finite simple groups. The aim of the meeting is to gather world leading experts and early career researchers working on the theory of buildings and its connections to adjacent fields to investigate the research avenues that have opened up in recent years by means of some spectacular breakthroughs in the field.

Program Schedule (Online)
All talks are held on Zoom and Problems/discussions are held in Sococo
All times Melbourne time (GMT+11).

Please click here for the talk title and abstracts

Talks Recording