Non-equilibrium systems and special functions

David Wood

  •  8 Jan 2018 - 2 Feb 2018
     8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Program Description: The last few years have seen impressive advances in the study of non-equilibrium statistical mechanical systems, in particular for stochastic classical particle systems in the KPZ class and quantum systems under quench protocols. In addition they have turned out to have surprisingly deep connections to two-dimensional lattice models with strong boundary effects and also to the theory of special functions, such as the Macdonald polynomials and elliptic functions. This program aims to gather leading experts in such areas and promote collaborations on these exciting topics.

Organisers: Vadim Gorin (MIT), Tomohiro Sasamoto (Tokyo Institute of Technology), Ole Warnaar (University of Queensland), Michael Wheeler (University of Melbourne)

Scientific Advisors: Alexei Borodin (MIT), Peter Forrester (University of Melbourne), Atsuo Kuniba (University of Tokyo)

Program Details and Materials:
Program Structure. (Please click on the image to enlarge).

Please click here to view the talk titles and abstracts.

(Please click on the name for the full presentation pdf.)


  • Deadline: 15 September 2017
  • Registration is by invitation only

Participant List:
– Patrik Ferrari (Bonn University)
– Craig Tracy (UC Davis)
– Vadim Gorin (MIT)
– Tomohiro Sasamoto (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
– Ole Warnaar (University of Queensland)
– Michael Wheeler (University of Melbourne)
– Vladimir Bazhanov (Australian National University)
– Dan Betea (Universit´e Paris Diderot)
– Jérémie Bouttier (CEA Saclay, ENS de Lyon)
– Richard Brak (University of Melbourne)
– Alexander Bufetov (Aix-Marseille Universit´e)
– Zeying Chen (University of Melbourne)
– Evgeny Dimitrov (MIT)
– Victor Dotsenko (Universit´e Pierre et Marie Curie)
– Caley Finn (Universit´e de Savoie)
– Alexandr Garbali (University of Melbourne)
– Jan de Gier (University of Melbourne)
– Liam Hodgkinson (University of Queensland)
– Takashi Imamura (University of Tokyo)
– Ivan Kostov (Institut de Physique Théorique, CEA-Saclay)
– Atsuo Kuniba (University of Tokyo)
– Vladimir Mangazeev (Australian National University)
– Masato Okado (Osaka City University)
– Vincent Pasquier (CEA Saclay)
– Leonid Petrov (University of Virginia)
– Matthieu Vanicat (University of Ljubljana)
– Mirjana Vuletić (University of Massachusetts)
– Paul Zinn-Justin (University of Melbourne)
– Amol Aggarwal (Harvard University)
– Yi Sun (Columbia University)
– Paul Pearce (University of Melbourne)
– Chihiro Matsui (University of Tokyo)
– Matteo Mucciconi (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
– Iori Hiki (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
– Xin Zhang (University of Melbourne)
– Alessandra Vittorini Orgeas (University of Melbourne)


MATRIX Wine and Cheese Afternoon 9 January 2018